Home       Disclaimer       Criteria       Review Policy       Contact       About       Reviews       An Adventurer's Guide to What to Read!

June 24, 2015

Joyride by Anna Banks

Title: Joyride
Author: Anna Banks
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Release Date: June 2, 2015
Received From: Publisher in return for a honest review

Synopsis: A popular guy and a shy girl with a secret become unlikely accomplices for midnight pranking, and are soon in over their heads—with the law and with each other—in this sparkling standalone from NYT-bestselling author Anna Banks.
It’s been years since Carly Vega’s parents were deported. She lives with her brother, studies hard, and works at a convenience store to contribute to getting her parents back from Mexico.
Arden Moss used to be the star quarterback at school. He dated popular blondes and had fun with his older sister, Amber. But now Amber’s dead, and Arden blames his father, the town sheriff who wouldn’t acknowledge Amber's mental illness. Arden refuses to fulfill whatever his conservative father expects.
All Carly wants is to stay under the radar and do what her family expects. All Arden wants is to NOT do what his family expects. When their paths cross, they each realize they’ve been living according to others. Carly and Arden’s journey toward their true hearts—and one another—is funny, romantic, and sometimes harsh.

 Review:
I loved Anna Banks' Syrena Legacy series, so I was really excited when her new book Joyride was announced. Joyride is very different from that series but I enjoyed just the same!

Anna Banks has a big sense of humor and while Joyride deals with serious topics it still has hilarious moments. The main characters have midnight pranking sessions for goodness sake! Arden and Carly's relationship is very different from most relationships I read about. It seemed more realistic in a way. People who don't know each other, to frenimies, to friends, and finally to something more. It was a really realistic progression. Though I wish there had been a little more tension when they got to be friends.

Speaking of serious topics, this book has quite a few. Deportation and immigration are realities for many people and it was nice to see a version in a YA book. I think Carly's parents' expectations of her were a little strong and I think her brother was kind of an ass about it. But I can see why everyone would be so stressed out about getting them back.

Mental illness also plays a role in this book. So trigger warning for suicide. I did think the way that Anna Banks handled the idea of medication and stigma was very good and realistic. I also felt that Arden reacted to Amber's problems in an understandable way. Also his father is the WORST. There is a reveal towards the end of the book that I was not expecting but looking back it should have been obvious. Lets just say I hate Sheriff Moss.

Overall I liked Joyride. Anna Banks did a good job balancing the serious topics with humor. Also I think the topics were handled in a good, responsible way. The only thing I didn't like was I wished there was more in-between in Carly and Arden's relationship, it kind of felt like it came out of left field. Also I felt that Carly's family's expectations seemed a little out there, but that could be reality for all I know.

All that said I definitely recommend Joyride for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jennifer E. Smith. A little less romance, but still very good!


Check out a guest post I did with Anna Banks here
Links to my reviews of  Of Posidon, and Of Triton

3 comments:

  1. High, girl!
    While I realize my penname is quite morbid, yet,
    you shall find in our 23 blogs a lottagobba (subliminal) moxie
    which has taken this mortal sinner yeeers to compile:
    I lay it ALL out for you, dear - neet, packaged, concise.

    Nevertheless, wouldn’t ya love an endless eternity
    of aplomBombs falling on thy indelible, vigilant cranium?
    An XtraXcitinXpose with no
    zooillogical-expiration-date,
    with an IQ much higher than K2,
    and an extraordinarily, sawcy, rowdy victory??
    Here’s what the prolific GODy sed:

    “Faith, hope, and love,
    the greatest of these is love -
    jumpy into faith...
    and you'll see with love”
    Doesn’t matter if you don’t believe
    (what I write);
    God believes in you.
    God. Blessa. Youse -Fr. Sarducci, ol SNL
    Meet me Upstairs, girly, where the Son never goes down
    (nonillions
    x
    nonillions
    x
    nonillions
    of delicious opportunities for excitement BTW)…

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm glad to see that you really liked this one! It sounds so excellent. I loved Anna's Syrena Legacy series so I want to check out the rest of her books. I'll be sure to pick up a copy of this one when I can. Have an awesome week and great review! I love your blog design. :-)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  3. Chuyen cung cap cac thiet bi am thanh Loa Karaoke Hay | Loa Karaoke Hay Nhat chinh hang, giá tot.

    ReplyDelete

Hi! I love getting comments, I will try to answer all of them time willing!